top of page
  • Writer's pictureNadya L

Great Sketching Locations in NYC

Currently I am away in college which means I can't visit most of these locations till the next major holiday, but I would still like to share them with those that are interested.

In my time living in NYC, I have visited quite a few ideal NYC locations for sketching. The qualities that these locations all hold are active, large, open, and lots of seating locations.

Why do I mention seating? Well, I have yet to become the kind of sketcher that owns a travel stool (largely because I didn't think I'd need that at school this year, and car space was limited!) But I am not one to sit on the ground in the middle of the street in NYC. Nowadays, it seems like that's reserved for homeless folks... Hence I prefer public parks and mini squares to sketch in.

This past summer, Madison Square Park has been an ideal location for me because I worked right across the street so it was a perfect after-work sketch location that's not out of the way. The various summer events that go on there are perfect to fill my sketchbook. Plus, you've got so much beautiful architecture that you can see right from the park bench. Also, they've got so much yummy food nearby that you can draw! (At least if you aren't like me and just scarf it down before you get out your sketchbook.) The famous sushi burrito place is nearby and I highly recommend it!

Another cute little park that I found was a public park that is managed by the Hilton hotel nearby, so you know it's going to look nice. Across the street from it is the tall skinny 19 Park Place that is pictured below! It was very relaxing and breezy just sitting there and sketching since it's just a few blocks from the water! Also it's one of Ismael Leyva Architects (ILA) buildings! The actual scenery of this quaint park is also an ideal sketch option, but I was just getting ready to go home so I didn't get that far.

A short walk nearby is the Oculus, WTC's, Brookfield Plaza, and the waterfront and even though I have yet to draw 1/2 of these, I still have to have this on my list! The waterfront is my favorite part! The yachts that dock here are so stylish and just ready to be sketched! They are definitely challenging subjects though!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page